Throwback Concert: AC/DC at Madison Square Garden 2000

Throwback Concert: AC/DC at Madison Square Garden 2000

By Drew Carrano

Like Connecticut, New York is also going through its share of problems during this pandemic. Today we look back at much happier times in the Big Apple. When the streets were packed, lights were bright and Madison Square Garden was filled with the rafters with 20,000 screaming AC/DC fans!

Today’s Throwback Concert:


Stiff Upper Lip Tour

Opening Act: Slash’s Snakepit

Friday August 25, 2000

Madison Square Garden – New York City


About The Tour: AC/DC began a massive world tour in 2000 to support its 14th studio album, Stiff Upper Lip. The tour kicked off in Grand Rapids, Michigan in August 2000 and would go on to visit nearly 140 cities in 17 countries before wrapping up the following summer in Europe. AC/DC would play Madison Square Garden twice on this tour, but on two separate legs. This show at MSG was on the first leg of the North American Tour and was AC/DC’s first show at The Garden in four years.

AC/DC’s set list had it all. For two full hours, fans got to rock out to hits like T.N.T. and Hells Bells, to deeper cuts such as Bad Boy Boogie and Hard As A Rock, to brand new songs Satellite Blues and Safe In New York City. Opening the show was Slash’s Snakepit, a band that featured Guns N’ Roses members Slash, Gilby Clarke and Matt Sorum plus Mike Inez of Alice In Chains.



  1. You Shook Me All Night Long
  2. Stiff Upper Lip
  3. Shot Down In Flames
  4. Thunderstruck
  5. Hell Ain’t A Bad Place To Be
  6. Hard as a Rock
  7. Shoot To Thrill
  8. Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution
  9. Safe In New York City
  10. Bad Boy Boogie
  11. Hells Bells
  12. Satellite Blues
  13. The Jack
  14. Back In Black
  15. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
  16. Highway To Hell
  17. Whole Lotta Rosie
  18. Let There Be Rock
  19. T.N.T. (encore)
  20. For Those About To Rock (We Salute You) (encore)



Watch: AC/DC at MSG